Egglypant!

Today I had one of the best (read: most fun) private English lessons I’ve had in a while. I also got really excited about planning a lesson teaching the perils white privilege for my fifth-year students – a throwback to my liberal arts/Skidmore experience. And I made a kick-ass batch sriracha-honey-mustard baked chicken.

So far, my first full week of work in 2015 has been going pretty well (aside from getting used to my alarm clock again). Going home to the USA for 16 days seemed crazy, and I admit, I was pretty discombobulated for the first four or five days home. It wasn’t just the jet lag. I had to get used to: not having a schedule, high-fructose corn syrup, driving, staying up past my bedtime to be social, and most importantly, being searched out. Having not been home in a while meant a lot of people were asking about me. And even though they were mostly family members, being in demand is tiring!

And then suddenly there was a countdown, champagne, and a plane flight.

I flew out a few days after New Year’s eve, but those final days always blur into one. And I always wind up packing the morning of my flight. And as we glide down I-95, I always wind up making phone calls to people I didn’t get a chance to see. But now I’m back in my second home, with my head finally on straight and really feeling on top of my game. Which is just where I need to be, seeing as the next few months are jam-packed with academic projects, social events and travel.

But no headaching about that now. For tonight, I will laugh to myself about the little girl today who, when presented a list of food in English, asked me, serious as can be: “Ma cosa vuol dire egglyplant?”(“What does egglyplant mean?”) And how we giggled making animal sounds while reading a Biscuit the Dog book I brought to her from the US (even though I am now a devoted Pete the Cat fan). And how she demanded to re-read the book out loud to me, by herself (and got 90% of pronunciation right on the first try, for your information. Kids, man).

Saluti from Crema, where the fields are frosty and foggy in the morning but at least the cappuccini are hot.

love your barista
morning love from my barista
4 thoughts on “Egglypant!

      1. Crema is about 30,000 people so really not too big. I tend to see my students everywhere. Are you working through a program or were you lucky enough to find a permanent job over here?

Leave a Reply

