Nobody said it was easy…

Wednesday August 1st. was the day that never ended. The morning found me in Rome. I was sitting in the Fiumicino airport. I was reliving every moment of these last 7 months over and over and over. And obviously, I was crying. So basically the typical airport scene – girl with bed-hair hunched over computer, typing furiously, sniffling obnoxiously. I think the check-in attendant took pity on me and that why I didn’t have to pay for the 4 extra kilos in my suitcase. When I arrived home in Connecticut there were friends already itching to see me so I spent most of the night catching up. Then, the jet lag hit so there finished my 22 hour day. And now I’m here.

Writing this entry means the end of a journey that flipped on a switch inside of me. However, just because I’m going home doesn’t mean that switch gets turned off. I just have to power through this last year of University and then I’ll kind of be able to do start doing what I want. So I guess I’ll recap my last few days and then wrap it up. Don’t want anyone getting to teary-eye on the other side of the internet, because really, this is a happy entry. It is an entry about growth and new experiences and learning how difficult but beautiful it is to say “good-bye” (or even “see you later”).

So I’ve got Fidelity by Regina Spektor blasting in my headphones, which may not be the best energizer song after you just left your boyfriend on the other side of the security gate. That said, we had many amazing days together before I had to go. On Saturday I arrived at Bologna a hot, sweaty mess after completing my last English Camp in the mountains by Trento. The difference in temperature was crazy. But the landscape in the Trentino region was beautiful and going hiking in the mountains was a nice change, even if it meant I had to wear long pants for the first time in months.

Bologna was hot as usual and the afternoon was filled with errands, meaning the night came quicker than expected. Sunday morning it was an early wake up to catch an 11am train to Rome, then a regional to Fiumicino. There was a lot of confusion on how to get from the airport to the hotel but eventually we arrived to the small but cute “Hotel La Villetta.” Sunday night we went to the town fair that was going on – it was legit. There were rides and food and corn on the cob! It might sound weird, but in Italy they don’t really eat ears of corn in Italy, it all comes out from a can.

Monday, we got up early…again (this was the trend of the weekend).We took the bus to the metro to another metro and suddenly we were in front of the Colosseum in Rome. This was my 4th visit to the eternal city and it still amazed me. Stepping out of the metro station and knowing how to get to everything was incredible. Of course, I was the tour guide for the boyfriend – go figure, an American who knows more about Rome than an Italian. And of course, I made a stop at my favorite spot, Pizzeria Da Remo in Testaccio.

Then it was Tuesday already. Woke up with a bad case of “where-did-the-time-go-itis” and it was not pretty. But we fixed it by taking a walk, going to the beach and having a really nice last dinner on a boat. Yeah, I was on a boat, like a boss. And the food was really good, too (what kind of entry would this be if I didn’t mention food every so often?). After, we walked to the end of the pier, surrounded by crashing waves and fishermen crouching over really long fishing rods with head-lamps and little glowing bait things.

And now, it’s Friday. August 3st. When I got to Italy in January, I thought my departure would never come. Not because I wanted to go home, but because 7 months is a long time. If you think about it in terms of weeks or days or number of adventures, it’s a decent chunk of time. BUT I would be lying if I said it was enough time.

Ok, I’ve talked enough, in an honest attempt to prolong the journey. And I’m excited to be home. Kind of. But the nervousness that I’m feeling is natural. I hope. Anyway, thanks for reading everyone. Hopefully I’ll have the opportunity to write here again. Let’s keep our fingers crossed.

Grazie mille tutti.È stato una vera avventura/Thanks a million everyone. It’s been a real adventure.

Ci vediamo.

Leave a Reply

