Sunshine and beer!

Ciao lettori! I am writing to you from my breezy and sunshine filled room. Today has been pretty close to perfection. I walked to the “Mercati della Terra” (Markets of the Ground) which is an organic farmer’s market open Saturdays from 9-2. I was told by a friend that they had lunch food there so my plan was to wake up and get going. I made it to the Mercati by 12:30 and it was packed with people, so I nudged my way through the crowds so I could get a better look at the individual stands.

I saw all these people walking around with Crescentine filled with prosciutto or other types of meat, so I asked someone where I could snag one. Crescentine are region-specific bread rolls, and I asked the bio-butcher to throw some salami in mine: 

I also saw this organic beer stand and I couldn’t help stopping by. I didn’t intend to buy anything but then I saw they had Birra di Girasole (Sunflower beer) and my interest was piqued. I got a small glass and kind of just held it for a while, watching it sparkle:

It had a light, slightly bitter taste with a hint of toasted sunflower seeds. It was kind of weird at first, but after a while I got used to it and realized it was a nice compliment to the onion and pancetta bread that I bought.

In about 5 minutes I’m going to hit the Giardini Margherita for a run to squeeze all I can out of this beautiful weather. Then tonight, celebrating our housemate’s 21st! Birthdays in Bologna are always a great time.

Ci vediamo!

Leave a Reply

