Giorno di San Valentino!

Ciao tutti! Felice giorno di San Valentino! Spero che tutti avreste un bel giorno con la gente che ama voi. (Happy Valentine’s day! Hope you all have a great day with the ones that love you).

Being in Italy has taken some of the sheen off this one particular day, because (as the cliche goes) Italy is super romantic 24/7. So even though there were roses everywhere today, it felt like a pretty normal day. I did my usual people-y things, like shopping a class and going to the Mercato delle Erbe for some much needed grocery shopping. In fact, today has been a really nice day – the sun was finally shining! And I made some amazing food, which always perks my day up. But first, here’s a picture of the Mercato:

So I’ll make it brief, I’m sure you all want to go eat chocolate instead of listening to me rant about food: lunch was a whole zucchini, sliced and grilled with some curry, oil, salt and pepper. Dinner was a meat-sauce alla Mrs. Gia’s Mom (it’s an old family recipe?) I also made this salad with some of the fresh oranges I got from the Mercato:

the ingredients were oranges, lettuce, salt, pepper, oil, balsamic vinegar, peppers, and TLC (but not the band).

Tonight I’m getting together with some of my Brown buddies who aren’t on mega-romantic Italian dinner dates to make Tiramisu fingerfood snacks. Yea I know you’re all wondering what I mean. And I’ll post pictures later I promise. But trust me, they’re delicious.

I leave you with this lettori. A picture I took today of the precariously placed death-sheets commonly known as icicles that hang from the roofs of many buildings in Bologna. They’re dropping like flies, which makes walking around the city an adrenaline rush.

I’m about to start wearing a hard hat when I go clubbing. Ci vediamo!

Leave a Reply

