TRENTATRENTATRENTA

30 DAYS!

One month from today, Lettori, I will be on my way to Roma (give or take a few hours).

I’M SO EXCITED. I don’t know how else to describe my emotions right now. It’s amazing. FINALMENTE. After starting at 100+ days, we’re down to 30. come vola il tempo! (times flies!)

In Reading Rome, we’re approaching our presentation date for the Basilica of Maxentius. Our motto for the presentation is: The Basilica of Constantine and Maxentius – Size Matters. This building was enormous and its ruins are some of the largest from Ancient Rome, so therefore…size does matter.

Also, we are reading some first-hand accounts of Rome from the lovely Florence Nightingale! Who knew she was good for things other than holding lamps? Well…apparently she was really familiar with Rome and traveled there quite frequently. This was all news to me.
Her letters to her sister are really great sources for what travel was like at that time. I especially love how she was able to climb into the orb on top of the Vatican. I was extremely jealous, especially because when I was there, visitors were only allowed to climb to the top of the cupola (which was still an impressive height). I can only assume she was writing about the golden orb that is below the cross, one of the highest points in the city. What an amazing feeling that must have been.

Well lettori, we haven’t had actual class in about 2 days, so there isn’t much to update you on, except the daily growth of my excitement. Once it gets down to about 20, I don’t know how I’m going to control myself.

BUONA PASQUA! (Happy Easter) Hope you’re all getting some of the beautiful weather.
Ci vediamo.

Leave a Reply

